AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the HDTV scene. I am located in downtown Chicago. To be more specific, I'm on the 14th floor of a building near the intersection of Division and Lake Shore Drive. Can anyone report what OTA reception is like downtown? Also, I don't have a balcony, and I'd like and indoor antenna that's discreet to quell my wife's decor issues. Can someone make a recommendation on a compact antenna? I've read mixed reviews of the Terk TV55.

Thanks,

Ken

·
Premium Member
7,093 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by kshipman
I've read mixed reviews of the Terk TV55.

Thanks,

Ken
Mixed like the martini made of gin, an olive, and the bartender whispering "vermouth" over the glass.;)

The usual recommendation for your situation is to combine the cute little Silver Sensor for UHF and a 92" homemade dipole for WBBM. Of course you might be the other person to get a TV55 to work.

·
Registered
175 Posts
My Silver Sensor gets virtually nothing. I live a few blocks south of Addison and the lake, 5th floor, can see the Hancock Building from LR window, can't see Sears Tower.

HDsuccesses: WBBM (sometimes), ABC (sometimes), PBS (sometimes), NOTHING (last night).

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Was considering the Samsung 165, assuming I'll get a Tivo or some other recording device in the future with a firewire port.

Thanks for the feedback.

Ken

·
Registered
67 Posts
definitly want something with very little gain. Channel Master's 3010 or Winegard's GS1000 are excellent for out door placement. Otherwise the Greywolf is right on as most people on the forum really reccomend the silver sensor.

·
Registered
62 Posts