AVS Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
284 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I can grab either 2 SVS PB-1000's setup or 2 Def Tech SuperCube 8000' for around the same price. Buddy gets a deal on def tech speakers. Thanks

·
Registered
21 Posts

Is this a serious question or are you just bragging that you can get SuperCube 8000s for 66% off MSRP?

·
Registered
284 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Its a serious question. I haven't been able to find much info on the supercubes. Didn't know if they were overpriced subs that bestbuy sold. So your telling me their legit?

·
Registered
21 Posts

No, my comment wasn't constructive at all.  I have no experience with the SuperCubes either and their does seem to be a lack of performance data compared to ID subs.  What I can tell you is that I have dual PB-1000s in a 1400^3 ft room and I've very happy with them in regards to FR, clarity and they have no problem pressuring a space my size.  It looks like the DefTechs will dig lower and are significantly more powerful (amp-wise). But some of the features like remote control and front LED panel are gimmicks IMO. Just based on their manufacturer specifications; however, they would seem superior.  But they don't have the warranty or trade-in credit that SVS offers.

·
Registered
9,175 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by trp3383  /t/1525862/help-choose-between-dual-subs#post_24568593

I can grab either 2 SVS PB-1000's setup or 2 Def Tech SuperCube 8000' for around the same price. Buddy gets a deal on def tech speakers. Thanks

I have a SC8000 and a PC12+ (listed in my sig). I have a 1650 cubic ft room, can be closed off with 2 doors.

The SC8000 was OK in this room on its own. It falls off pretty fast below 25hz, has decent output above that to about 100hz then drops off again. It had trouble integrating with the SuperZero speakers I initially were using as they were better with a 120hz crossover than they were at 100hz.