AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
690 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've attached my home theater diagram. I would appreciate any help as to where to put the speakers. I know I want 7.1 surround.

The screen goes on the far end in the indented wall and I can have it sit forward and put 1 or 2 subs behind it.

If anyone could tell me why I would need two subs that would be cool too.

Are there sound issues if I put them in the wall somewhat versus on the walls?

Newbie here! - But I promise putting up all my pictures as I build it.

thanks,

Gary

·
Registered
7,822 Posts
You don't need two subs unless having one is too wimpy.

Look at the Dolby site for general speaker placement.

·
Registered
3,854 Posts
Here’s the site DMF was talking about:
http://www.dolby.com/consumer/home_entertainment/

It’s a rough guideline – of course, the way the room is built will determine things like rear speaker placement.

For surround sound purposes, it’s best to move the primary seat some distance away from the wall. This not only enables you to put the seating closer to the TV (which effectively makes the picture larger), it makes rear speaker placement easier, as more options are available.

The rear speakers should be placed in one of two locations: On the side walls a foot or two behind the main viewing seat, or on the rear wall roughly perpendicular to the front L/R speakers, or perhaps a little further apart. Personally I don’t like for them to be as close to the seating as the picture on the Dolby site shows – it makes them too easy to localize, which makes them a distraction.
Quote:
The screen goes on the far end in the indented wall and I can have it sit forward and put 1 or 2 subs behind it.
Generally the best place to put the sub is in a corner, but it won’t hurt to try it out behind the display.

Quote: