AVS Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After nearly 9 years of flawless service, my valued Panasonic plasma TC-P42St30 suffered a breakdown.

I went to turn it on and heard a popping sound. The screen went black and the red LED power indicator stayed solid red.

I unplugged it, turned it on again, and received a black screen and solid red LED. I pressed the power button down and the LED gave me the 14 blink error code.

I searched this forum and used the handy Panasonic troubleshooting guide to isolate the problem.

Using a multi-meter, I tested the P-board and found it was shorted. I order a replacement P-board from TVPartsToday. Unfortunately, it was damaged in transit and tested DOA. They sent out a replacement P-board. The P-11 pin is testing fine, however, P-2 pin on the P-board is testing short. I disconnected the cable and it still tests short.

I'm a relative novice in this area, so I'm not entirely sure how to proceed. I'm committed to trying to fix this thing.

The P-11 pin tests fine and the P-2 pin fails. Does this suggest the board is unusable and I should sent it back again or is there something I'm missing?

I've included some photos of the P-board and the multi-meter readings.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Attachments

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I caution anyone using that repair guide to repair the 14-blink error code on the TC-P42St30 not to overlook the SN board as being the primary board. In my situation, the P board was fine and I needed to get the SN board fixed. I found a repair place on eBay. The TV is now working as good as new.

·
Registered
31 Posts
I have the same model (TC-P42ST30 bought in 2011) and experienced the same problem recently (14 blinks). I am not proficient at fixing this myself. Is there any idea what the cost is to fix this, parts and labor? Would it be worth it in your opinion?

·
Registered
1,183 Posts