AVS Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been using this TV for 2 years with the same HTPC.. via my PowerColor HD 4850 ATI card (HDMI cable). I was using Vista 64x, then upgrade to WIndows 7 64x Evaluation copy. Now I bought the Win 7 64bit Ultimate.

After I reinstall the OS, the LCD keeps making this hissing and poping noise. I am using HDMI 2 input as for the last two years. Nothing changed, same HDMI cable, same video card, some computer, just new OS.

But I did added an OCZ RevoDrive SSD on PCI-E card, instead of using my OCZ 2.5" SSD HD.

I first thought it's the new ATI catalysist driver 10.2. So I roll back to the earlier version 9, or 8, same thing. I used the Windows driver, same thing..

But whenever I play a sound from my HTPC, the TV plays the sound and then the hissing and popping is gone. But on the next day, I turned on my TV, the hissing and popping comes back, and I have to play a sound to quiet it down.

So now everyday the first thing I do when I turn on my TV and the HTPC is to play a sound to suppress the hissing noise.

It feels like if I don't play a sound from the HTPC, the TV doesn't get a proper signal level from the HTPC via the HDMI cable, and the hissing and popping noise.

My HDMI 2 port has no problem , because I tried plugging my DVD player to it and no noise.

Hope someone can help.

TIA,

Sapphire

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
It doesn't have a problem when I watch OTA, or any other source (DVD, Cable Box).

It's just that when I use HDMI2 which is connected to my HTPC the hissing noise starts.

It's even interesting that even if I set the TV volume to "0", the hissing and popping noise still exists. The noise start soft when I turn on my HTPC, then it begins to get louder and louder. Once I play a sound from my HTPC, it complete gone.

grr..

·
Registered
279 Posts
Hi Sapphire,