AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 77 Posts

·
Banned
Joined
·
29,681 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,


I have a modest home server based on WHS2011 + FlexRaid. It is an Asrock H61 motherboard + G530 CPU with 8GB DDR3. The OS is installed on a 60GB cheap Agility3 SSD. My FlexRaid pool is a mix of various HDD's of the 1TB 2TB and 3TB variety.


My Desktop is Asus Deluxe Z68 with Dual LAN. One is INTEL NIC. It is an i7 2600k with 16GB DDR3 with dual video cards and dual SSD's. For storage the desktop has a RAID0 7200rpm 2TB drive (two Samsung 1TB's) and a modern 2TB Hitachi 7200pm 2TB Sata3 drive. I also have a 300GB 10k rpm Velociraptor HDD that is used only as dedicated for Mp3 Itunes music collection.



Here is what I see when copy from my HDD to my SSD in my local main PC. I assume this is limited to 140mb/sec read of the HDD. This is on my local machine from HDD to SSD.



Not bad and perfectly acceptable to me. This is what I always have gotten pretty much. But this is local on my main desktop only pasting to an SSD so obviously the read of my HDD is the limit. All drives plugged directly into motherboard with SATA cables.


so moving on to my problem:


Now here is from the SSD in my main PC to the SSD in the Server:



Now I choose to paste to and from SSD only to ensure the drive is not the speed limiting factor. Both SSD's are hooked directly to SATA III ports on the motherboards. This should rule out any controller card issue or various HDD speed issues from my various HDD's in the server.


If I past to the FLEXRAID drive I get the exact same speed FYI. I also get the same speed reading from server and pasting to my PC as I do reading from my PC and pasting to the server.

I am thinking it is a connection issue.


I am assuming something funny is going on because both drives are SSD and hooked directly into the motherboards.

Just for HAHA I took a file from the flexraid drive to the SSD and vice versa. All done on the server as local commands.


Above is the SSD of the Server to the flexraid drive of the server. Done as server as a local command.


Above is the opposite. From the flexraid drive to the Server SSD.

I have played a few times before and the speeds really vary around. Faster sometimes. Othertimes not. I assume this is variables on the drives being used and such... I can figure that out later. But for now I know that a paste to the server on any drive is about 11MB sec and too slow. If I do two then I get about half that and 5MB/sec copy paste.


So it seems I am being limited or throttled.


Any ideas???
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
29,681 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Someone recommended:
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkinder83  /t/1071162/guide-to-building-a-media-storage-server/7410#post_22203489

Quote:
Anyone have clue how to test or help improve my transfer speeds?
I've been using LAN Speed Test to test my network lately.

Very big thank you!


So I did and here is what I get:




Does this look right?

I set the folder on the SSD C drive of the server just to see what happened. Does this mean my connection is ok and the problem is elsewhere ???


ok I tried again on the flexraid combo drive:

 

·
Banned
Joined
·
29,681 Posts
Discussion Starter #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by John P  /t/1071162/guide-to-building-a-media-storage-server/7410#post_22203696


What is the speed of your network connections? If you are connecting through your router what speed are the ports, many are 100mbps. You should be using all gigabit (1000Mbps or 1.0Gbps) connections between the desktop and server. If your router 100mbps you may want to add a gigabit switch connecting the Desktop, WHS2011 and router to the switch. Also check your network adapter speed settings in Device Manager.

Like bkinder83 I also use LAN Speed Test. Google it is free. The Microsoft speeds jump around all over.

If you have SATA III drives connected to SATA II ports they are likely connecting at SATA I speed. I have seen this problem with several different onboard and plugin adapters. Use System Info for Windows (SIW) to verify. Google it is free.

What OS is your is your Desktop using. I see much better performance with Win 7 over XP.

I have two routers. I have an old WRT56G that I upgraded with DRT or tomato. I forgot which. Not hooked up.

I have a crappy Linksys WRT120N which is what is hooked up now.


I have a single wired run going under the floor from the office and from the router to a wired ASUS switch (10/100/1000) and from that I hook up my Denon AVR3312, Samsung Bluray, Xbox360, TIVO HD, and HTPC. The HTPC also has a wireless card just in case.


Also from my router (fed directly from my cable modem) I wire direct to both my my main PC and my server. The laptops, Iphones and devices all connect wireless.


Here is my Internet Speed. Seems ok to me:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/2059675509.png





But a copy or a paste to server or from server is slow. I have a feeling it's the set up.


What is the best method for trouble shooting

?


Where do I start? What do I do.


I see people post 100mb/sec speeds and I can't get that. I want it. What to do ?


A copy and paste directly when logged into the server from the server drive to or from another server drive on the server machine itself does show me about 95mb/sec on a normal HDD and faster on SSD OS drive. Each drive has a different result but non are slow like if I use my desktop to paste to the server or paste from the server. This makes me think it's the connection.


Even if I try a paste to the OS SSD of the server or vice versa the speed is slow. SO it's probably not hardware because both OS SSD's are hooked directly to Motherboard SATA3 ports. I have all drives in all PC's set to share with full permissions. It's all a wired network and nothing important is on any of these. It just movies and music and games.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
29,681 Posts
Discussion Starter #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick  /t/1071162/guide-to-building-a-media-storage-server/7410#post_22212210


Will do now.

I appreciate any advice anyone has for me. Thanks in advance.
http://www.thehtpc.net/htpc-tips-and-tweaks/network-tips-and-tweaks/improve-vista-and-windows-7-network-performance/#more-%27
Quote:
The first one we are going visit is bandwidth throttling. This was introduced in Vista and subsequently leaked over into Windows 7, continuing to cause many people grief. Open your registry editor by running regedit from the Start -> Search programs and files field. You should be an administrator of the system you are doing this on. We now want to browse to:


HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\LanmanWorkstation\Parameters


DisableBandwidthThrottlingOnce there, a new DWORD value needs to be created called DisableBandwidthThrottling. Create that value and double-click it to open it for editing. Change the Base radio button to Decimal then change the Value data entry to 1. Click OK to accept the new value.


Now, I recommend you go ahead and reboot at this point and once getting back to your Desktop, try streaming a file that has always been troublesome before. If you stream without choppiness, stutter or skipping, you’re problems are solved and you can end here. If you are still experiencing trouble, continue on and try the next registry change.



That was done on my main PC. No change in speeds. Still 10/11 mb/sec Tried both to and from server.


Do I need to disable this on the WHS2011 operating system too? Or do I need additional ???
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
29,681 Posts
Discussion Starter #6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick  /t/1419935/help-i-only-get-11mb-sec...1-media-server-what-should-i-do#post_22212429



That was done on my main PC. No change in speeds. Still 10/11 mb/sec Tried both to and from server.

Do I need to disable this on the WHS2011 operating system too? Or do I need additional ???

So I did this on my WHS machine also. Both desktop and Server and both restarted. Both have same results. Terrible 10MB/sec



Someone help me?




Very sorry for the multiple posts in my own thread but I wanted to give everyone a basis to start from without the usual having to ask so much information first.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
342 Posts
both the lan speed test and the file transfer speeds are showing the same speed (11MB/s or 88Mb/s)... so everything looks correct and the bottleneck is in your lan. It looks as though at least one piece of network equipment is rated at 100Mbps rather than gigabit.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
29,681 Posts
Discussion Starter #8

Quote:
Originally Posted by signcarver  /t/1419935/help-i-only-get-11mb-sec...1-media-server-what-should-i-do#post_22212459


both the lan speed test and the file transfer speeds are showing the same speed (11MB/s or 88Mb/s)... so everything looks correct and the bottleneck is in your lan. It looks as though at least one piece of network equipment is rated at 100Mbps rather than gigabit.

It must be my WRT120N since it's the only thing connecting them. CHEAPO LINKSYS ROUTER. It's an epic POS. Always needs resetting.


I also have a WRT56G. I am going to check specs now.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
342 Posts
the wrt120n has 4 10/100 ports the 56g is the same... so you will never get more than 100Mbps which is usually around 10MBps until you use a gigabit switch or router with a built in gigabit switch
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
29,681 Posts
Discussion Starter #10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick  /t/1419935/help-i-only-get-11mb-sec...1-media-server-what-should-i-do#post_22212471


It must be my WRT120N since it's the only thing connecting them. CHEAPO LINKSYS ROUTER. It's an epic POS. Always needs resetting.

I also have a WRT56G. I am going to check specs now.



Your right !!!


So now what do I do ???
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
29,681 Posts
Discussion Starter #11

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick  /t/1419935/help-i-only-get-11mb-sec...1-media-server-what-should-i-do#post_22212490



Your right !!!

So now what do I do ???

I also have a Asus switch that is 10/100/1000 in the other room. How could I use that to fix my problems?


Or- could I just buy a new router?


Or- Can I run the server directly into the spare LAN port on my desktop. It has dual LAN.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,704 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick  /t/1419935/help-i-only-get-11mb-sec...1-media-server-what-should-i-do#post_22212471


It must be my WRT120N since it's the only thing connecting them. CHEAPO LINKSYS ROUTER. It's an epic POS. Always needs resetting.

I also have a WRT56G. I am going to check specs now.

Both the WRT120N and WRT54G have 10/100 switches. No gigabit.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
29,681 Posts
Discussion Starter #13

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zon2020  /t/1419935/help-i-only-get-11mb-sec...1-media-server-what-should-i-do#post_22212496


Both the WRT120N and WRT54G have 10/100 switches. No gigabit.

Lol I Just linked you in your router thread.


Now you fully understand why I am looking to buy a new router. haha.


You still suggest the same ???
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11,442 Posts
How long should it take to move, say 100GB, over a 1gbps network with SATA II drives spining at 5940 RPM?
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
29,681 Posts
Discussion Starter #15

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2  /t/1419935/help-i-only-get-11mb-sec...1-media-server-what-should-i-do#post_22212562


How long should it take to move, say 100GB, over a 1gbps network with SATA II drives spining at 5940 RPM?

hold on and I will test:



Looks like about 15 minutes.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
29,681 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
100Gb is pretty sizeable copy and paste. That's about 4-5 BLURAY RIPS.


Your slow 5940RPM drive probably writes about 90MB/sec.


So if your network was not bottlnecked it would take 11.1 minutes.


But- for me the network is a bit slower than the HDD speed so it takes about 15 minutes. @about 75-80MB/sec it seems.


If I wanted to paste 100GB to my 7200rpm RAID0 ARRAY without the network limit it's nearly twice as fast @ 147MB/sec. NOTE: These are not 5940rpm.


So it would take me about 6-7 minutes to paste 1000MB of data on my HDD.


In contrast- I could paste that to my VERTEX3 MAX IOPS array in about 20 seconds
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11,442 Posts
Wait... How are you testing that and how did you come about these numbers?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11,442 Posts
Performance

Data buffer (MB) 32

Rotational Speed (RPM) CoolSpin

Media transfer rate (Mbits/sec, max) 1366

Interface transfer rate (MB/sec, max) 600
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11,442 Posts
133Gb = 133000Mb

(1366Mbits/s)/(8Mbits/MB) = 170MB/s


133000/170 = 779s or 13minutes
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
29,681 Posts
Discussion Starter #20

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2  /t/1419935/help-i-only-get-11mb-sec...1-media-server-what-should-i-do#post_22212743


Wait... How are you testing that and how did you come about these numbers?

I was flawed. I did it wrong.


real calculation is more like 100GB


1024 X 100 = 102,400 MB in 100GB.


So if you write at 90MB/sec to your 5490rpm drive then it would take 102,400MB divided by 90 = 9000 seconds. 9000 seconds is about 18.9 minutes.


Hope I did that right this time. Lol.
 
1 - 20 of 77 Posts
Top