AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I'm a newbie both to this forum as well as CRT projectors. Until a week ago, they were just another piece of high priced home theater equipment I could never afford. That changed when I came across a Marquee 9500 for $2500. Since then, I've been reading like crazy in this forum (as well as the rest of the web), and as so many other people have already pointed out, it's been *extremely* helpful. Thanks already.

Where my confusion comes in is that I thought that the Marquee would sync up to different aspect ratios (4:3, 16:9) and display them correctly, but the guy at the company that's selling it says that's not the case. He said that I would need a different card installed to do wide-screen. He also states that tubes will last about 29,000 hours. I don't think he's entirely misinformed, because his company has dealt with hundreds of Electrohome CRTs, but what he said didn't make sense when compared to what I've read in this forum.

The unit I'm looking at has the standard inputs (RGBHV), no additional cards, the latest bios, and I'm not sure about tube life yet.

My question is this: What do I need to go from a DVD player or cable box to the Marquee? Do line doublers serve that purpose? I'm also considering an HTPC, and I'm curious if they also take the place of a line doubler. (I have an extra VGA to RBGHV cable, so I'm familiar with that type of input.) Also, when an HD signal finally comes to my area, is the Marquee ready, or will I need something else?

Thanks.

·
Registered
3,902 Posts
From what I've seen 9500's selling for I'd jump on this yesterday, even if the tubes are wasted.

As long as the unit produces a picture, those tubes can be replaced as needed. Even if you had to replace them all, at $2,500, that's still a very good deal for a 9' CRT...as long as everything works.