AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can someone help me out, first of all I'm a newbie - but I'm not afraid. On my recently acquired NEC XG1100 I have squiggles shaped like the top half of an "S" on the very top of all the cross-hair test patterns (only these test patterns). It doesn't affect my image, and it is only present in the cross-hair pattens. Each vertical line of the cross patterns ends with a squiggle on top. Interestingly enough, when I disconncected my RGB H/V cable from the NEC IDC 3000 image processor/line doubler and put the test pattern up with out a signal - the squiggles disappeared and the pattern is fine. In addtion to the squiggles it seems as though the first 5% of the top of the screen has been squished down (much more evident in the finer cross patterns). Is it my doubler signal, my cable (do I need to use a 5 cable connection rather than 4?), is there a problem with the projector? I've noticed a few other posts in the past about it similar problem, but nobody can back to identify exactly what the problem was and how to solve it. Can someone help?

·
Registered
2,606 Posts
Blargh. I had the same problem in the upper left of my Bacro 808 about a year ago. We had a thread about it, and I think we resolved it, at least on the 808 machine. A few others have had the same problem around the same time, and I can't remember right now what fixed it.

Have you tried adjusting the h phase a little? I think it has to do with the projector not locking onto the video signal properly, which is why it fixes itself when you disconnect the cable.

Oh, I remember now. If this is the upper left corner of the screen, the problem is the raster is unstable in this corner as the gun is recovering from the vertical retrace it must do between frames. If your image area is too close to this unstable region, or is inside of it, you see the effect on screen.