AVS Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Have lurked on this forum and others for many hours over the last 6 months and have not found info I am comfortable with. I want to build LCR speakers from scratch (not a kit). I am an accomplished woodworker, capable of building any design. Although I find speaker enclosure/crossover design theory very interesting, I do NOT have time to take it on as a new hobby. I want to procure parts and build a well respected, proven design.

The problem: All three speakers MUST be tucked inside an existing built-in cabinet. The three spaces in the cabinet are 4" off the floor and approximate diminsions are 18"w x 25"h x 18"d. The doors in front of these spaces consist of a 2.5" wide perimeter frame with grill cloth.

Currently, I have 4.0 setup driven by a Denon 5.1 receiver with a phantom center. The current LRs are in the cabinet described above and are early '70s vintage Yamaha 12" 3-way sealed units, fairly high end in their day. I do not have any place to put a separate sub. My biggest issue is that dialog is MUDDY and hard to understand.

These are also my music speakers; about 50/50 music/HT use. Is there a moderately priced solution that will significantly improve my poor situation?

·
Registered
7,626 Posts
Augerpro's "No Quarter" might work well in your 3 cu.ft. enclosure. Nothing will sound fantastic when mounted in a cabinet though. At least not compared with standalone style speakers. You might need to look into adjusting crossovers for an "in-wall" type of BC?

What does "moderately priced" mean though?

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by CZ Eddie /forum/post/18147822

What does "moderately priced" mean though?