AVS Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here is my situation:


My wife and I just purchased a home and I get to set up my media centre on a new LCD in the living room hanging over the fireplace so I am pretty excited. In my previous set up I had a old pc running 7MC connected to my xbox 360 and displayed on a rear-projection tv using Mediabrowser. I am now in the process of deciding what I want to do in the new place. I want my living room set up to have the LCD over the fireplace and nothing else in terms of A/V equipment. I want my HTPC to be run from the basement (I have a conduit from behind the tv to the basement already set up). I also want to have my xbox 360 as an extender in the bedroom. Mediabrowser is going to be used on both the HTPC and the 360. I have a harmony remote 880 that I will be using to control my HTPC (I have no idea how, I haven't used the HTPC yet). What do I do to have everything run as seamless as possible?


Would I run an HDMI wire from the HTPC in the basement to my LCD in the living room for audio/video?


What would I do in terms of controlling the HTPC from my living room?


I have someone coming by next week to install ethernet jacks in the house so I will have everything in the network wired.


I also have an acer easystore server for backup/storage that will be in the basement as well


So much to figure out and so confused
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
967 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by hypperboy /forum/post/18190949


Here is my situation:


My wife and I just purchased a home and I get to set up my media centre on a new LCD in the living room hanging over the fireplace so I am pretty excited. In my previous set up I had a old pc running 7MC connected to my xbox 360 and displayed on a rear-projection tv using Mediabrowser. I am now in the process of deciding what I want to do in the new place. I want my living room set up to have the LCD over the fireplace and nothing else in terms of A/V equipment. I want my HTPC to be run from the basement (I have a conduit from behind the tv to the basement already set up). I also want to have my xbox 360 as an extender in the bedroom. Mediabrowser is going to be used on both the HTPC and the 360. I have a harmony remote 880 that I will be using to control my HTPC (I have no idea how, I haven't used the HTPC yet). What do I do to have everything run as seamless as possible?


Would I run an HDMI wire from the HTPC in the basement to my LCD in the living room for audio/video?


What would I do in terms of controlling the HTPC from my living room?


I have someone coming by next week to install ethernet jacks in the house so I will have everything in the network wired.


I also have an acer easystore server for backup/storage that will be in the basement as well


So much to figure out and so confused

1) Sure, just make certain you get a decent quality cable. Check Monoprice.com


2) Easiest solution would be to use a IR repeater (I use these http://www.smarthome.com/8210/Powerm...-PEX01-/p.aspx NOTE: Can find them cheaper elsewhere, including Ebay) You put the receiver near the TV, and the transmitter in front of the HTPC. If your PC doesn't have a IR receiver of its own, you can pick those up on Ebay for less than $15 - search for HP IR Receiver)


If you don't like the idea of that pyramid (about 3" tall) in your main room, there are also mini receiver systems like this - http://www.hdtvhookup.com/irresyhiirco.html


But you'd have to run the wires down that conduit - whether that would be a hassle or not, I don't know.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the response.


I have some more questions = )


1) Will I be able to use my Harmony 880 to control the HTPC using the IR system that you suggested?


2) Is it possible for me to press one button on my harmony and go directly to Mediabrowser or even media center?


3) I was planning on getting a 25' hdmi cable from monoprice (as suggested) is there a particular one that I should get?


4) Would I be able to add an AV receiver to the htpc in the basement to be contolled upstairs?


Im sure I will have more questions but I appreciate the help
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,908 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by hypperboy /forum/post/18190949


I want my living room set up to have the LCD over the fireplace and nothing else in terms of A/V equipment. [...] I have someone coming by next week to install ethernet jacks in the house so I will have everything in the network wired.

In order to "future-proof" your installation, you might consider running your cables to alternate locations for your TV. Over a fireplace is really lousy placement. To avoid neck strain, a viewer's eyes should be level with the lower half of the screen.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by cavu /forum/post/18191744


In order to "future-proof" your installation, you might consider running your cables to alternate locations for your TV. Over a fireplace is really lousy placement. To avoid neck strain, a viewer's eyes should be level with the lower half of the screen.


The fireplace has a media niche built right over it so there really isnt much choice in terms of placement.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by sotti /forum/post/18191764


man you let your wife talk you into a really clunky expensive setup.

I'm sorry but I'm not sure what you mean by clunky and expensive?


I built an HTPC and I have an xbox360 in the bedroom to act as an extender for mediabrowser.


I am open to suggestions for a less expensive more streamlined approach
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14,549 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by hypperboy /forum/post/18191690


3) I was planning on getting a 25' hdmi cable from monoprice (as suggested) is there a particular one that I should get?

That's a long run for HDMI. You should factor in buying an HDMI booster if your equipment can't maintain a good quality signal over that length.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,908 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by VisionOn /forum/post/18191834


That's a long run for HDMI.

25ft is NOT a long run for HDMI !!


75ft and over is a long run for HDMI and ought to use an equalizer/repreater!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,908 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by hypperboy /forum/post/18191809


The fireplace has a media niche built right over it so there really isnt much choice in terms of placement.
Hang a nice painting there.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by cavu /forum/post/18191875

Hang a nice painting there.


I attached a pic of the place. First room is the dining room and the room with the fireplace is the family room.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
967 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by hypperboy /forum/post/18191690


Thanks for the response.


I have some more questions = )


1) Will I be able to use my Harmony 880 to control the HTPC using the IR system that you suggested?


2) Is it possible for me to press one button on my harmony and go directly to Mediabrowser or even media center?


3) I was planning on getting a 25' hdmi cable from monoprice (as suggested) is there a particular one that I should get?


4) Would I be able to add an AV receiver to the htpc in the basement to be contolled upstairs?


Im sure I will have more questions but I appreciate the help


1) yes


2) Sure. I use EventGhost with my Harmony 720 and with 1 button press I turn on my AVR, set it to the proper input, turn on my projector, set it to the proper input, resume my HTPC and launch MediaPortal where it displays the Moving Pictures plugin.


3) 25' is fine, (I'm running 35'). They used to have 2 levels of cables, with the small price difference I'd go for the higher end one. However I only see 1 25' option there now so I guess that's it.


4) yes


In regards to the media shelf over the fireplace, unfortunately that is very common and as mentioned by others realistically too high for the proper viewing angle. If that's what you have to go with then so be it, but you may want to consider a retractable arm to mount the screen on that you can pull out and angle down to a better viewing position.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,056 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by hypperboy /forum/post/18191903


I attached a pic of the place. First room is the dining room and the room with the fireplace is the family room.

That wall next to the fire place looks perfect
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,908 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by sotti /forum/post/18192337


That wall next to the fire place looks perfect

I agree.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
216 Posts
This flat panel over the FP design is rampant. Need to work with it, the room is designed around it. My complex has the same design in all the units with the fireplaces. My pre-wire unit has the TV screen high up, like it is over a fireplace.


Get a mount that tilts (and possibly swivels) to position the screen as best as you can towards the main seating area. Even a slight tilt/swivel makes a big difference. Sitting further back, say 7'-8' will limit "looking up" effect. (Depending on the size of that cubby hole, this will mean giving up on any ideal seating distance.)


Run the HDMI cable to the basement. In fact, I would suggest running 2 HDMI cables, and a component run w/stereo cable set to the basement. Then you'd be set for any possible device mix down there. I'd also put in an Ethernet run as well, connected TVs are around the corner. Still is gonna be annoying with playing discs, having to go downstairs will suck.


I would do Harmony with a repeater for IR control.


No surround sound?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
Thanks for the advice guys!


In terms of TV placement, it is what it is. I am stuck with over the fireplace and while I haven't had the chance to experience a tv over the fireplace I am looking forward to my new living room and having the chance to tweak my home theatre in my first home. Im sure if we experience the "neck effect" I will do my best to rememdy the situation but for now I can't do anything.


In regards to running up and down for disc's...I currently have my entire dvd/bluray collection on my media server(acer easystore) so it will not be an issue. My whole idea is to have a simple look in the living room with the TV and the speakers being the only thing visible all the while having full access to my media content via 7MC and Mediabrowser.


For surround sound I have a HTIB type setup. I will have the AVR in the basement and the speakers in the living room.


I have purchased 2 25' hdmi wires from monoprice and I am looking at getting and IR receiver for the HTPC and IR extenders for the harmony to control the basement components.
 
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
Top