AVS Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So i'm a complete noob when it comes to FP. Right now it looks like i'll be purchasing the Mitsubishi hd1000u. My biggest issues seem to be with making a screen. I'm not sure about the instructions for how to do it. First of all, is using MDF (3/4") a decent choice for my 16:9 screen. I realize its heavy, but i like the fact that its pretty smooth, and probably resistant to bending.

Next issue is weather or not Behr SS is a good choice for me. ATM, i can completely blackout the room. The FP will be ceiling mounted. To be honest i dont know what my preferances are, so im just looking for a decent place to start in terms of having a good screen.

Next question is about mixing the paints. What does 20/48ths mean? Am i just mixing these colors together prior to rolling on? And can i find these paint colors or equivalents at Lowes?

Here's the formula for SS

Generic Formula of Behr SS:

1 gallon flat white latex base

20/48ths of Lamp Black

20/48ths of Raw Umber (a dark, murky yellow/orange-based pigment)

2/48ths of Red

Any advice would be greatly appriciated.

·
Registered
533 Posts
Have a read of the top sticky guide for info.

Possibly have a look at the fneasy style, that is quite simple with effective results.

Some ppl have problems with SS others have success. Type and style of PJ has some influence on the outcome as the out of the box PJ defaults can(usually) be a little wonky(all brands).

Keep it simple for a start, have a read of the DIY guides, follow them and you should be on the right track.

I also recommend getting a calibration DVD(cheap, can only set Brightness, contrast, color,tint(too a degree)) or have the PJ and screen dialed in by a ISF Calibrator(modest cost, best result). This will cure most ills unless something is really wrong.

·
Registered
52 Posts
I came here 2 or so weeks ago with the same situation that you're in. Here's my thread