AVS Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm totally new to projectors, so I'm here for advice as I'm considering one for my living room.

* Budget is around $1,200 for projector + screen.

* 1080p highly preferred.

* The room doesn't get too much light, there are shudders on the windows and we really only watch movies at night, so I think ambient light shouldn't be an issue.

* Room is roughly 15' x 12', but depending on the location of some doors, there is a decision to be made as to where the screen and couch should go that affects the viewing distance. I made mock-ups of the 4 options that show dimensions and possible screen (represented as a white rectangle) placement:

Option 1: screen in front of the patio doors. 15' viewing/throw distance, ambient light blocked... but so are the doors.

Option 2: screen in front of the dining room area. 12' viewing/throw distance, some ambient light from the side, a bit weird to have a screen half way in the dining room.

Option 3: screen opposite the patio doors. ~12' viewing/throw distance, some ambient light from patio doors.

Option 4: screen perpendicular to patio doors. ~8' viewing distance, up to ~12' throw distance if ceiling mounted near dining area, some ambient light from patio doors.

What's your favorite layout? What's the biggest screen size I could comfortably watch? What projectors/screens would you recommend?

·
Registered
676 Posts
I'd go with option 3, as with 1 & 2 your couch is backed up against the wall, not so great for surround sound....and option 4 seating is too close....

Everyone is different in regards to what max screen size is comfortable....I have two setups.....one I have a 92" and sit at 12 feet....another 150" and sit at 18 feet.....best to get the projector first and watch a few movies at different sizes before you decide....but for me I think could watch 120" at 12 feet......