Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi!

I'm a future HTPC builder. I'm finishing my attic were I want to install a LCD projector. My PIII500MHz is also dying and I'm gonna buy a new PC so 2+2...

I was thinking about using a PC to play DVD's and DIVx and make it an entertainmente center. But I had a lot of doubts concerning audio out, audio formats, etc. Anyway I (re)found this forum and (almost) all my doubts have gone. I didn't imagine that an HTPC was such a high-end video platform. So after reading the faq's and most forum threads, I know were I want to go... :)

I have to make some initial quick decisions relating to cables since the attic is almost finished and there is some doubts that I must address.

I appreciate all your input to help me take the right decisions. I don't want to rush in, but I need to act fast and right, if I don't want to rip off the wood floor, or ceiling, or pass cables all around me, later.

There are a few things I already know:

- I will go LCD (I'm a rainbow man, so one less decision to take)

- I want to use my HTPC as a GAMEPC, HIFIPC, WWWPC, MP3PC, YOUNAMEITPC, so I wont'g go for a M-AUDIO (at least not now). I guess a cheap audigy with a SPDIF will satisfy my games and my cinema.

- I will go for an ATI also. Not shure what, but a 9xxx series would be fine. I need to check the DVI or components video out on the differente models.

And now I'm arriving to the part that I have more doubts.

I was looking for a LCD projector, and I had a few low-end winners Sanyo PLV-Z1 or Panasonic PT-L300U. They have great reviews, but since I'm going to use it for data only, my mind is blurred now. Are those good choices? Or am I judging by the wrong parameteres. Is there low-end stuff that produces great data signal. SInce I'm not using projector internals for conversion.