AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a really old Sony One-Box system (around 15 years old). My basement (20' x 40') is wired for satellite speakers. My biggest complaint with this system from day one is the center channel speaker. It doesn't send out the spoken voice well, therefore it's necessary to turn up the tuner volume and then turn it down again during an action scene. I have been eying the Bose Cinemate 120 system for a few months now, but I'm afraid my basement is too long the 120. I spoke to a rep at Bose who feels the 130 would be a better choice, however, the 120 itself is getting beyond my budget. First, if I were to spring for the 120 or 130, would either be a good upgrade from the old Sony system based on it not having satellites? The sound from the satellites in the Sony system has never been very impressive. I really have no need for a tuner, therefore the Bose systems are very intriguing, but my heart isn't set on Bose (especially if there is a more affordable system that sounds good and could maybe even integrate the satellites). Any and all advice is appreciated.

·
Registered
2,028 Posts
IMO, Bose makes some pretty good noise-canceling headphones and that's about it. Everything else is overpriced and underperforming. Unfortunately, I couldn't find any information on your Sony One-Box setup, so I would need some more information on how the satellite speakers are powered to be able to determine if they could be integrated with a different processor/amp and center channel/sound bar. Are they connected to the Sony One-Box unit with standard 2-conductor speaker wire? Any idea what impedance they use or what their maximum power rating is?

Given these unknowns and the fact that you weren't particularly impressed with the satellites as surround channels, it might be best to start from scratch. $999 could get you a pretty decent surround sound setup...much better than the Bose Cinemate systems.