AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
18,850 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK people, I wouldn't normally do this but I am really in a quandry. For almost 2mos now I have been trying to get my homebuilt tower to work properly and for some reason I just cannot even get it to post. I am not a novice! I have built many setups in my day and all have worked...until now.

I pretty much went through the whole magilla- brand new MSI P7N Diamond mobo that I sent back to the company for them to check and they verified all was OK.. I purchased a brand new OCZ 1010W PS, all my other components came right out of a working setup so I know they work. I am totally lost!

I really need some help, I am getting tired of using my PS3's awful browser and having no PC at all. If you have any homebuilding knowledge at all and live in the Natick/Framingham area and want to do a longtime AVSForum member a favor, If you help me get things going I willl make it worth your while- take you out for a meal, let you rummage through my considerable pile of spare PC parts (motherboards, videocards, wireless network cards, soundcards routers, etc).

·
Registered
2,814 Posts
Did you try to swap RAM?

Are you using the right cpu for the motherboard and the right ram for the motherboard?

Do you have the right connections from powersupply to motherboard?

Is there any LEDs or other diagnostics on the motherboard?

·
Registered
17 Posts
With new computers sometimes you have to boot up with one stick of ram first to adjust the voltage settings since the motherboard does not give the ram enough volts initially. Have you tried this yet?

·
Registered
18,850 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
As I said before, I am not a novice. Have built many systems all with success. I tried everything and it SHOULD work. Even tried it outside of the case and it didn't work. Least it should do is post. If I had a wrong CPU or in or it was in the wrong way or unsupported I should get a series of beeps, but I get nada.