AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a newbie and have the following problem. I connected my laptop to my 65" sharp LCD via HDMI.

I set the resolution on the laptop to 1920 x 1080 and the desktop is bigger than the screen, half of the taskbar if cut off as well as the sides of the screen. Can anyone help me.

·
Registered
1,375 Posts
It is overscanning. Look for a setting in your TV picture menu to Just scan or dot for dot to turn off the overscan and get 1:1 pixel mapping. If you can't find it post TV and laptop specs?

BB

·
Registered
498 Posts
find out what kind of video card you have in your laptop. either way you should be able to rightclick your desktop and find the video card settings menu. Within this menu will be options and settings to adjust your desktop so it fits in your TV.

Also, I always suggest that if you're hooking your computer up to an HDTV that you download the latest drivers for you video card. Find the make and model of your video card and go to the manufacturer's website to get the newest drivers.

·
Registered
16,749 Posts
Many graphic card manufacturers never update the drivers for their cards. You are better off getting the latest drivers for their cards by going to the Website of the manufacturer of the chip used on the card such as Nvidia.com or ATI.com. Also this is why you should never accept graphic card driver updates from MS Winupdate.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks for the info, it is a Sharp Aquous 65SE94U if you can tell me how to adjust those settings that would be great, incidentally I noticed when I am watching sattelite TV on some commercials there are white jittery pixels on the top and sometimes the bottom of the screen (only like 1/4 " wide or so).

The graphics are Nvidia in a Sony Z790DnD laptop with HDMI output.

All suggestions are appreciated!

·
Registered
1,650 Posts

Quote: