AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
7,486 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Barco D-701s, Sony 1272q, Sanyo Z1 LCD or NEC 6PG.

Considering each of the above three cost $1100, with only the Z1 being new,, and the fact that I have an HDTV receiver and HTPC, what would you recommend?

And lets assume please, that these are my ONLY three choices (which they are, unless anyone has something available right now). I have a tentative agreement to buy a Z1, but he hasn't verbally commited to selling to me. :(

I'm in the Los Angeles area.

I have no CRT experience, in fact my only projector experience is with an InFocus X1 DLP. But I'm not afraid to learn how to adjust them. I like that sort of thing. :)

I want to use a 16:9 98" screen since my viewing is 97% HDTV or widescreen DVD.

The Z1 LCD is native 16:9 1/4 HD resolution. It's also small and very quiet.

The Barco 701s has 4000 hours and supposedly in "excellent condition".

The 1272 has 6000 hours and supposedly "no burns" and is missing it's remote control.

The 6PG is about 5500 hours and very slight burn, according to the pictures. About a 6-7 according to the CRT scale.

·
Registered
326 Posts
I wouldn't rush into anything myself. Check around, have a look at as many systems as you can and come to a conclusion about them. Nice thing about CRT's is they should last 10k hours total. The two machines you are looking at are moderately well used at 4k and 6k hours. You never know, though, could be the tube faces have less (or more) wear than the hour meter suggests. Only way to tell is to look at them. Of course, if you are like me, and don't have tons of experience, you might not know completely how to tell the difference. I learned a bit by just looking at photos of tube faces. I hear, however, that this isn't the best way to judge.