AVS Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
423 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys so i really want to get a home theater system for a good price for black friday.

I'll be using it with my samsung 40" lcd, ps3(older ps3), xbox 360, cable box, and computer.

I'm very new to this and would like to keep it around $300 or so for now with the option of upgrading speakers or receiver in the future.

the ones I have been looking at are the

onkyo hts3300 or hts5300 (both pretty much same price with deals)

or the Yamaha YHT-393BL only $263 on amazon right now.

I think the yamaha has a powered sub while the hts3300 does not?

anyways, what would be the best for the money? Or can you recommend me a good receiver with better speakers for somewhere around the same price?

thanks guys!

·
Registered
9,938 Posts
Hard to recommend the Onkyo hts3300 with its passive sub unless you get it for way less than MSRP.

Onkyo hts5300 has the firmware issue that makes the LPCM from the "fat" PS3 swap the rear surrounds. If you have a bitstreaming player (like the newer PS3), this isn't an issue.

Yamaha YHT-393BL is about as good as the comparable Onkyos, and has the powered sub. In your situation, this might be the best.

For $300, your budget would be eaten up by the receiver, leaving very little for speakers.

·
Registered
423 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
yeah I'm thinking about going with the yamahas ... are they at least decent? Could I just upgrade the speakers in the future?

Or what if I was to upgrade the sub some time soon should I go with the hts3300 and then upgrade the sub or just go with the yamahas?

edit: also i guess the yamahas are 263 + $30 shipping... they also have the Yamaha YHT-493BL at amazon for 299.99 and free shipping but what is the difference between those and the Yamaha YHT-4393BL

·
Registered
9,938 Posts