AVS Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently purchased a pair of 805 D3's. I'm trying to build my 5.1 surround package. For the rears I need to do in ceiling. I plan on using the speakers for theater 90% of the time. I've been looking at the B&W HTM2-D3 for the center and DB3D for the sub. For the rear ceilings perhaps the 8.5 D's or 7.3 S2's.

I want don't want to go with an integrated amp/processor so I can upgrade the processor only in the future, does this make sense? For the amp i'm looking at the Rotel -RMB-1585 and the Rotel RSP-1576. Does this look like a good fit? I'm a bit of a novice so other recommendations are appreciated.

·
Registered
11,600 Posts
Those will be nice sounding speakers with the classic B&W sound.

Two obersvations:

1) Even though it seems counter intuitive, a good AVR with all the features and good power is cheaper than a processor alone. So if you are trying to save money even with future upgrades, a good AVR will be cheaper than an amp and separate processor that you upgrade -- both now and in the future.

2) While that is not a bad sub, it is very expensive for what it can do. Part of the expense is that they have packed a low of power in to a small box. And part of the expense is the brand name recognition. If you have space and a desire to spend less and get more, you should consider some of the quality internet direct brands like HSU, SVS, Rythmik, PSA. And if you have space for a ported sub (or, better, two, in order to have more consistent bass across multiple seats) that is the way to go. The downside of a ported sub is size. The upside is that you get lots more headroom for no extra cost.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Those will be nice sounding speakers with the classic B&W sound.

Two obersvations: