AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
283 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to this ,I don't know all the technical terms like you guys do,just want a affordable HDTV,I just got ATT digital cable and on my 27' Panasonic sucks.Would the Digital cable improve on a HDTV ?

My DVD is 4 years old,not the "Progressive Scanning " Just don't have the dinhero for all this at once.

Do I have to buy any add-on to make the HDTV 100% Digital ?

Thanks

·
Registered
1,895 Posts
I hate to say it, but HDTV may not be your answer. If your picture quality with ATT digital cable "sucks" on your 27" TV, it will look even worse on a big HDTV. Digital cable has nothing, and I repeat nothing, to do with picture quality. It is a way for the cable company to get more content onto the bandwidth they have and nothing more. If your cable company is really interested in picture quality, they can work on it. Most don't care. They advertise digital because that has become a buzz word for better and improved. In reality, it isn't.

If you want HD quality, you are going to have to spring for an HDTV and probably some type of set top box (STB) receiver that will combine over the air (OTA) and satellite reception. Depending where you live and what satellite you tune into, you will get 2 to 7 or 8 HD signal sources. Some cable companies are now offering HD over cable, but these are few and far between. You might check with your cable company about that, but it is a separate service from digital cable.

DVDs also look great on an HDTV (whether progressive or not), but sadly regular cable, digital cable, OTA non-HD signals, and regular satellite signals will often suffer.

SMK

·
Registered
362 Posts
Hi Roy: I don't think digital cable should be as bad as it seems to be in your case. Perhaps the first logical step would be to get the cable guy in to check out the system.