Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

I'm a newbie who thought he'd figured it all out until I started reading the posts here. Like other posters, I'm having a home built. My builder only offers basic CATV and phone cabling. Thought I'd use my 23yrs Navy Electronics experience to the test and do it myself. As with most posters I'd like to have multi-zone/multi-source AV installation( 4BRMS, 2Bath(audio only), Den, FRM, DNGRM, Kit(audio only), Screened porch (audio only), Basement, Garage(audio only): for 13 zones).

I had thought that I'd start with modulated RF channels for video to start (because of $$) so I bought a CP SVM-24 and a CP DA-550HHD thinking I'd add another modulator later for camera's (I'd like to have 3, two outdoor 1 in). I also purchased 2000' of structured cable (2xRG6U quad-flex,2xCat5e), 4000' of Cat6, 2000' of 12 gauge speaker wire, and 1000' of "siamese" (or twin) quad flex RG6U.

For Audio I was going to go with the NuVo Concerto until I found out I couldn't buy and install it myself. I was hoping the keypads would control volume so I wouldn't have to worry about impedance matching, although this is a topic that is hard to find info on when searching for products. It seems like either everyones figured it out or no one wants to talk about it. (Different impedence when you have one or four zones accessing the same source).

After reading some posts, it looks like most recommend running component for video (5 RG6 not 2) and like russound products as a panecia. A friend who's in the whole home industry recommended control4 and doing everything digital over Cat cable but that doesn't seem stable yet.

Without going on forever (SORRY) does anyone have a suggestion for AV products that may satisfy my needs without breaking the bank (and that I can purchase)?

Thanks in advance to any and all!

Ed

·
Registered
716 Posts