AVS Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I'm new to AVS and am nowhere near an audiophile, BUT I love music and am looking to buy some speakers. I have a Sony STR-DE975 receiver and just got a Pro-Ject turntable. I won't be using for tv/movies. I found a pair of vienna acoustic waltz speakers on Craigslist for $450. Owner has receipt showing they paid $2,200 a few years ago. Seems like a good deal, but I'm not sure. Assuming they're in good shape, will these speakers be good for the mains in a 2-way system? Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
7,063 Posts
The Vienna Acoustics Waltz is only 3.5 inches thick and is designed to be wall-mounted. It is 4 ohms and only goes down to 70 Hz; very little bass.

It is from a company that makes quality products, but is a rather unusual design that might not be what you want. Look at the manual on it on the Vienna Acoustics website before you get into it too far.

Shipping might cost $150 to $200 also, so consider that.

For main speaker use, I'm not sure these would be the best thing unless you add a subwoofer to use with them. They really were intended for use with a subwoofer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by toreaux  /t/1419837/help-thoughts-on-vienna-acoustic-waltz-needed#post_22210338

Hello, I'm new to AVS and am nowhere near an audiophile, BUT I love music and am looking to buy some speakers. I have a Sony STR-DE975 receiver and just got a Pro-Ject turntable. I won't be using for tv/movies. I found a pair of vienna acoustic waltz speakers on Craigslist for $450. Owner has receipt showing they paid $2,200 a few years ago. Seems like a good deal, but I'm not sure. Assuming they're in good shape, will these speakers be good for the mains in a 2-way system? Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #3