AVS Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
263 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Not sure where I should be listing this, so tell me if there's a better forum...

I'm completely new to HDTV, haven't even bought an HDTV yet. I plan to get a 50" Panasonic plasma soon. Trying to decide on a G10 or wait for the 2010's (G25?) to hit the stores.

But my question is regarding what else I need to buy besides just the TV. I've read some on the various options, and it's very confusing for a newbie like me. There's cable, there's OTA, there's TiVO, there's Roku, there's PS3, there's LG or Samsung Blu-Ray. Hard to piece together costs and which is best for the money.

I don't watch that much TV, as I work alot. I'm not much on computer technology either, so it has to be farily simple to hook up. I don't game at all. I do watch Netflix movies (get them in the mail now), and that would be a close second to the time I spend watching cable TV (maybe one movie per week and one hour of TV per week). But I'd like a nice picture when I do watch.

I'm sure there are lots of opinions out there on what's the best option for receiving content at a good price. Can you give a newbie some pointers on what's the best deal going, given my criteria? I have Suddenlink expanded cable service (but not HD), if you've heard of them. They do offer HD. So is just HD cable with a cable box the best route? Or buy a TiVO box to use with the cable HD? Or go with a Samsung BluRay player to get Netflix movies thru that, then go with HD cable? So many choices...

·
Registered
10,880 Posts
A lot of people in my area who don't watch a lot of TV are happy with OTA, netflix and a bluray player. Or maybe with a OTA DVR for pausing live TV and time shifting. Simple and the only monthly cost is a netflix subscription. The kind of OTA antenna you would need depends on your TVFool results .

Everyone's idea of must-have programming varies, though. Some people feel they have to have cable or satellite service.

·