AVS Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
okay total newb so go easy on me!!

Okay all I want to do is have my music from my computer available in the 6 main zones in my house. All 6 zones will get the same source - i don't need to have different stuff playing in different areas. I want to have a pair of speakers in each zone. So i am assuming i need a 12-channel 6-zone amp correct ?

Using google I found all types of results.

Would this do the trick ? 12-Channel Amp

I also found this: 12-Channel Amp Kit

I am really not a fan of the $1k price tag of that second one. Then I go to amazon and find this: Amazon Amplifier (Only $65!)

Can someone point me in the right direction here and let me know what I need. It would be a goal of mine to at least control the volume in each zone.

Perfect situation would be able to control the functions of my computer from each zone but thats pushing it i'm sure.

·
Registered
172 Posts
The "Amazon amplifier" is not an amplifier. It is a speaker selector.

The "12 Channel amp kit" would be unnecessary unless you wanted to play different sources in different zones.

You can either get a receiver and a speaker selector like the one from amazon or a multi channel amplifier. You will need volume controls if you want to control volume individually for each zone.

"Perfect situation would be able to control the functions of my computer from each zone but thats pushing it i'm sure."

Not sure this is possible unless you want to spend more money. Someone might have an idea.

·
Registered
5,313 Posts
If you have a PPC or PDA cellphone, you can easily control music playback from any zone. I know netremote can do this, not sure if you'd need girder or not.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·