Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I'm new to the world of CRT projectors, I've just bought a Sony VPH 1251. On the back, where the input cables go, there is a 9 pin D connector that says ANALOG which I assume is for connecting a PC. I have tried making a cable with the pinouts below, and the screen shows the red portion of the image.

9-Pin 15-Pin

Red Video 1 1

Green Video2 2

Blue Video 3 3

Horizontal Sync4 13

Vertical Sync5 14

Red GND 6 6

Green GND 7 7

Blue GND 8 8

Sync GND 9 10 + 11

Also, does anyone know if you can get a universal remote to control the Sony VPH 1251?

·
Registered
16,787 Posts
the 9 pin is old style TTL and will not work .

--- Jason

·
Registered
5,034 Posts
You need a vga to 5bnc cable.

I believe there was a wired remote that just ended on ebay with no buyer for like $20. With a little work following directions on here you can make it an ir remote. Of course you could modify your internal wired remote as well.

Or buy a pronto and don't let it fall on the floor like mine did.

Troy

·
Registered
766 Posts
=)

I can't tell you how many times my Pronto has fallen out of my hands. Those units are really unbalanced, which is a shame.

·
Registered
2,240 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by DaGamePimp
the 9 pin is old style TTL and will not work .

--- Jason
I thought those old 9-pin connectors were sometimes analog and sometimes TTL... not so?

Either way, with that connector, the board was probably only built to handle VGA (640x480) at best, right? Or, was it CGA or something...

SC

·
Registered
98 Posts
I bought my first projector, a 1251, last June for $500 and a remote for $100. Use the VGA to 5BNC cable. I bought a standard VGA extension cable from the local PC supply and ordered a short VGA to 5BNC cable. The two together go about 12 feet on my installation and work just fine.