AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We are in the process of buying a house that has a space (garage) that we are wanting to convert into a H/T.

The garage is roughly 20x20 with 8 foot ceilings. I plan to eventually build a detached garage to replace the converted one.

Please take a look at the (crude) drawing I have attached. Given the dimensions that I have to work with, and the area(s) that the garage backs up to, how would you suggest that I layout the H/T.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks,

-Dan

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I can't believe no one here has any thoughts they would be willing to share with me about this?

How about at least a recomendation for a book or two to help me figure out how to layout the room?

·
Registered
1,211 Posts
I'll try to jump in here. First of all, a square room is not a good thing acoustically. I'm not an expert but I remember this when building my theater out.

Maybe you could start by outlining what you hope to do in the room with regard to projection or not, seating (# of rows or seats, etc.).

Are you planning on keeping the bar?

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by No Clue
I'll try to jump in here. First of all, a square room is not a good thing acoustically. I'm not an expert but I remember this when building my theater out.

Maybe you could start by outlining what you hope to do in the room with regard to projection or not, seating (# of rows or seats, etc.).

Are you planning on keeping the bar?
Thanks for the reply.

Sorry, I guess I wasn't clear on the bar. Currently there is nothing in the room, I would however like to add a wet bar, and for logistical reasons the contractor says that is the best place to put it (the washer/dryer are on the other side of the wall so there is plumbing lines that can be tied into).