AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2,881 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been researching an antenna for a couple of months and would appreciate some help. This is the map of the HDTV signals I can receive

http://members.aol.com/phansson/antenna

The stations that I would like to receive are as follows

Abc #21 on map

Cbs #18 on the map

NBC #27 on map

All of which are within 40 miles from my house. All are UHF. The problem is how do you receive all 3 signals? I have had no luck with multi directional antennas. Would I have to mount two uhf antennas?

Has anyone tried the square shooter?

Thanks for the help.

·
Registered
1 Posts
Hi - I installed the Square Shooter today with promissing results. After looking at your map you would likely need a rotor with the Square Shooter. Also, I would recommend an antenna preamplifier or amplifier. I bought an AP8700 and it made a huge improvement. I am using RG6 cable. The house was pre-wired with a "structured cabling" package so the run from the outside location goes back to the distribution panel and then out to my Samsung STR150 tuner. It is a long run and I have a 15db DA as well as the preamplifier.

I live in the Bradenton area. Most of the transmitting towers are within a few degrees of each other. However one is about 60 degress out. I receivealmost every channel in the area. I expect that with some additional tweeking I can get them all. As a point of reference I can get all of the channels with a set of self powered rabbit ears from inside my second story theater room This was why I had some hope that the Square Shooter might work for me.