AVS Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

I'm new to the world of projectors and have learned few things from reading online but I don't think I have a good idea yet of what should I buy.

I have a 40*15 room and the wall for the projector is 15.7 wide and 8.5 high and it's a light controlled room.

I was thinking of 150-180 screen so one setting in the far back can watch with no problem.

the Sony VPLHW40ES and the Panasonic PTAE8000U on amazon for $1800 and $1500, which one would you recommend ?

I'll install it on the ceiling about 16 feet from the wall, is it enough for this screen size?

any ideas or recommendations will be appreciated.

·
Registered
4,081 Posts
this is the room
I wouldn't recommend the Panasonic for any screen larger than 100" unless it was a pitch dark room and the walls, floors, and ceilings were dark colors. It just doesn't have the lumens unless colors are adjusted way out of wack. Accurate color in a dark prepped room would allow a max 125".

The Sony could do the 150" screen but not the 180". Same for the Benq W1070.

A Benq HC1200 could do the 180" no problem.

You should really consider painting or possibly drapes on the walls to cut down on the amount of light bouncing off the screen, around the room, and washing back onto the screen again. Think about commercial cinemas -- they do not have light colored walls and ceilings for good reason.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
well, I don't have the privileges to paint the walls :D, it's kind of a living room and the projector won't be used most of the time, only to watch sports or movies.

why is the sony not good for more than 150" ?

reviews says the Benq isn't good for home theaters though

·
Registered
920 Posts