AVS Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am newbie here and this is my first post so apologies if I do not put it right way. AVS forum has been a great help so far to me and hoping to get good response for my confusion.

I am about to build my first HT. I am not audiophile but do appreciate good sound. I will be mainly using for cable, movies and often music. I enjoy live/bright sound more than neutral.

I moved into a new house few weeks back and it came with 4 in-ceiling pre-wires (2 fronts, 2 backs). I am little nervous after lot of warning from people on AVS about audio quality compromise with in-ceiling.

With that in mind, I am deciding to go with 4 in-ceiling speakers and on floor subwoofer and above/below the TV center channel. The room is 20x20 and 10 ft ceiling height.

Below are the speakers I am considering:

Subwoofer + center channel: Klipsch (around $300-400 each)

In-ceiling Speakers:

SpeakerCraft AIM7 two (210/ea)

Klipsch CDT 3650-C II (250/ea)

Yamaha IC800 (150/pair)

I know there are exceptional speakers out there including awesome in-ceiling however, I am not looking to spend more than $1500-1800 or even less if possible.

The questions I have is:

1. Do you guys think this setup would be lesser of a compromise since I will have sub and center near floor? Or In-ceiling speakers is just no-no?

2. Do you guys think purchasing good quality sub + center can help to go with cheaper in-ceiling speakers like I mentioned above? Or they will be still weakest link?

Please provide your feedback/experiences/suggestions as this is first time for me and there are many ways I can go wrong. Also, please provide suggestions with other brands. I came to this list after listening to them in nearby stores but I am totally open to suggestion as far as it falls in my budget.

Thanks all in advance.

·
Registered
12 Posts