AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
197 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Been trying to get IVS setup with a friend. Neither of us can see each others RTV - I'm connected via DSL, he has cable. We both have the same routers (Linksys) and the same ports set for forwarding. I can see other people's machines when I enter their address.

Can anyone give me any tips on what else may need to be done at the router to get IVS to work? My manual is all packed up and in storage 30 miles away, and the FAQ is down (cannot find server).

For whats it is worth, my ID is 00004-54988-73627. can someone see if they can add my machine?

Thanks

Ted

·
Registered
1,540 Posts
Tried contacting your Replay...no response. It's definitely something on your end, as I just successfully sent a clip elsewhere a minute ago.

I wish I could offer more help, but I'm pretty new to this too. I remember I had to be sure I had a port (I believe 80) open in my router and also enabled DHCP. I'm a network newbie, so I'm not going to go any further.

Some other more informed user is sure to reply to this and help you out more.

·
Registered
9,578 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by chain777
I wish I could offer more help, but I'm pretty new to this too. I remember I had to be sure I had a port (I believe 80) open in my router and also enabled DHCP.
You should have IVSPort forwarding from your router to your ReplayIP.

It is not a good idea to forward port 80 to your ReplayIP.

·
Registered
1,540 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by sfhub
You should have IVSPort forwarding from your router to your ReplayIP.

It is not a good idea to forward port 80 to your ReplayIP.
Can you elaborate on this. Like I said, I'm new to this and would like as much info as possible about IVS.

What do you mean by saying "it's not a good idea to forward port 80 to your ReplayIP?"

·
Registered
197 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·