AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the audio game as well as to AVS. I just recently purchased an HK 525 after reading the glowing reviews of it from AVS and its "easy on the pockets" price. I set it up last night and I'm just not getting blown away like people have typed in their posts when the volume is at -25dB for DVDs. When I had my old Sony Str-De 925 5.1 surround sound receiver hooked up, at only 3 for the volume it was pretty loud and it could go all the way up to 10. I know many dislike Sony on this forum for audio but it just sounds so much louder than my brand new HK.

Right now I only have 3 speakers set up until I can afford a set of Rockets (I'm a poor college student :) ). The mains are a pair of old KG 4 Klipsch speakers and the center channel is a JBL S-Center. I have them all hooked up w/ Monster Cable connectors, speaker wire, and coaxial cable for the DVD player.

I would just like to know for general set up for my speakers in the OSD On mode of the receiver. I know there is no way in determining exactly the settings because you guys have no idea of my room's acoustics and so forth. But my room is 13 x 15 ft in the shape of a small rectangle.

My speaker information for the KG 4 is as follows:

FREQUENCY RESPONSE: 38Hz-20kHz?3dB

SENSITIVITY: 94dB @ 1watt/1meter

POWER HANDLING: 100 watts maximum continuous (500 watts peak)

NOMINAL IMPEDANCE: 6 ohms

HF CROSSOVER: 1800Hz

For the JBL S-Center

MAXIMUM RECOMMENDED AMPLIFIER POWER: 150 Watts

NOMINAL IMPEDANCE: 8 ohms

SENSITIVITY (2.83V/1m): 91 dB

FREQUENCY RESPONSE (-3dB): 75Hz - 20kHz

CROSSOVER FREQUENCIES: 800, 3200Hz

With that information what would I put for the Crossover Frequencies in the Speaker setup when the OSD is on. I just want to get the most out of my new receiver. Thanks for using your time in trying to help me out This will be greatly appreciated. :)

·
Registered
2,351 Posts
Quote: