AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I been having problems with my S9 it doesn't do a side change instead it stays stuck side A and then displays e9 on the front panel, and now I have a laserdisc stuck in the player when I press open I hear this weird spinning sound and the player displays e9. could somebody help with this problem Thanks!

·
Registered
1,669 Posts
Out of curiosity, have you tried the simple unplug for an hour or so? Lots of players from those days would do a motor reset after being unplugged for usually more than 30 minutes. I can't even count how many times that worked for VHS customers when I was a video store manager.

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
no right now I'm trying that. i unplugged it before for about a minute but right now I have it unplugged after an hour or so I'll plug it in again and hopefully it works. by any chance would anybody have a english version of the instructions manual?

·
Premium Member
1,008 Posts
E9 is a slider A to B error in the service manual. The side change mechanism could be out of alignment or the side switch could be jammed out of place. The best thing would be to take the top off and see where the pickup is at. You could always send me a picture if you have a digital camera to [email protected] . This should be easy to fix once the problem is found.

Kurtis

·
Registered
1,669 Posts
I believe any E error is a slider. E-3 being standby or something along that line (guessing here). If the old fashioned power cycle didn't let it reset, your best bet is to follow Kurtis' advice and yank the cover. The mechanism is either out of alignment, or the LD wasn't seated smoothly in the tray and it's caught on the disc.

·
Premium Member
1,008 Posts