AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am relatively new to HTPC but a long time computer hobbyist and have scoured the threads in the last couple of weeks and though I have learned volumes, I still cannot seem to get my computer output(via DVI) to my 26" Samsung HDTV to be readable beyond the lowest resolution.

I am using powerstrip to tweak the resolutions and so far the only thing readable from 6' away is 672 x 440 (resolution in a resolution tweak of 720 x 480 to adjust for overscan)

I can do 1280x720 but is very unreadable. That's with windows fonts and icons set to largest size.

Am I expecting too much?

This is just a little better than a s-video computer connection.

I haven't found anyone who has worked out any powerstrip timings on these forums yet.

Thanks in advance for any help.

AMD +3200

ATI 8500 DVI

xp pro sp2

1 gig pc3200 ram

120gig drive

Samsung TX-p2670wh HDTV with native 480p and 1080i resolutions with everything in between upscaled I guess.

· Registered
211 Posts
Are you trying to find the timings for HDTV resolution, or do you have that and you're just trying to get windows fonts readable?

I don't think you'll ever be able to get readable font size at the higher resolutions on a TV. I think this is because 1) the screen is interlaced and 2) you're not sitting two feet away like you are with a monitor.

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yes, I'm trying to tweak the timings for the HDTV resolution to hopefully have a sharper resolution.

The windows fonts are at their largest setting on the lowest resolution and though readable(and fuzzy), I have very little real estate to work.

Also, at that same resolution I can definitely see a much sharper image on my 19" CRT monitor screen which is at the same distance next to the TV.