AVS Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there,

I am a home theatre newbie and have been doing some reading - but still a bit unsure. I have an open concept home. The room I am looking to put my home theatre in is 18x13 and it is open to a kitchen of the same dimensions.

I was contemplating installing the Energy Take Classic 5.1 system. Will these speakers be way too small for the area?

I am using a Denon 889 receiver and want to keep my price point less than $1000 (incl sub) for the speakers.

Any other recommendations?

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
5,557 Posts
Do you have any installation/aesthetic concerns? Are larger bookshelf or floor standers an option? If so, you could go much further towards filling that space within your budget... something like Infinity P362 mains, PC350 center, P152 surrounds, and a BIC PA-120 subwoofer is one example of a system in your budget that would likely fill the space better AND sound better... but floor standing mains and bookshelf surrounds aren't don't fall within everyone's sense of aesthetics or WAF.

·
Registered
3,575 Posts
I think you want something a bit bigger, and your budget allows.

For the sub, you'll want a lot more than the Energy. Consider an Hsu STF-2 for $385 delivered. That leave $615 from your budget.

Take advantage of the Kef iQx closeout at Vanns.

The iQ1 (5.25" duo-concentric speaker, which I have for fronts in an 18x24 room) are at $200 /pair.

The iQ3 (6" duo-concentric) are $250 / pair.

The iQ2 centre (5.25", which I also have) is at $150.

You could get a pair of iQ1 for the rear and two pair of iQ3 for the fronts (sell off the extra speaker for $125 and you're back on budget),

or get 2 pairs of iQ1 and an iQ2.

But that is just pricing talk and assurance that I like them. You really should listen to speakers before you buy to be sure that YOU like them.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·