AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
351 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been using womble to create svcd's for a while, but I tried to create a regular vcd last night, and I couldn't get it to work. I took a replay mpeg, and after editing out commercials, I tried to re-encode it in vcd format. I did the same thing as I normally do to make svcd's, except I clicked video cd instead of svcd. Nero gave me an error stating that the file was not compliant with the vcd version 2.0 standard. Is womble following a different version standard? Or am I doing something wrong? Thanks.

·
Registered
5,119 Posts
One of our Womble experts want to grab this one? I'm still learning myself. And it seems like in those long threads we learn one thing one day and another thing the next.

·
Registered
1,023 Posts
Hi,

Although I normally don't do any "re-encoding" other than the audio, I did try using Womble to convert one of the RPTV's mpegs to VCD. Worked fine here. I used the RPTV low quality which is 352x480 and 32 kHz audio.

After cutting and editing I saved it using the VCD profile. It re-encoded the mpeg and the finished product was 352x240 and 44.1 kHz audio with all the proper packet size etc. My Nero took it with no complaints.

The only thing I could think of is that before you did the final save, you might have opened up either the video or sound tab. Usually you only open them up when you want to change some parameter and force Womble to do a custom RE-encode.

I doubt this is your problem though, as you were successful with your SVCD encodes and the procedure wouldn't be any different for the VCD. Only checking the VCD check box would be important.