AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a total newbie when it comes to projectors. Currently, have an HD - RPTV, and also watch some HDTV on my computer monitor. Have been considering adding a "budget" projector to my HTPC setup (which includes MyHD). My viewing priorities are DVD, HDTV, and NTSC TV (using Dish Network), in that order.

Reading all the excitement about Infocus X1, I am thinking of taking a plunge. However, since I haven't seen it perform in person, I am a bit concerned about the PQ. While I found a couple of dealers in the area that carry X1, nobody had it in a showroom where they could demo it to me. Closest I came was an Infocus LS-110. Picture on an HD source seemed grainier than what I have seen on RPTVs and Plasma screens. That concerned me. I don't have a baseline, so I don't know what I should expect. Perhaps, the projector wasn't tuned properly, or may be I was standing too close (5-6 feet)?

The projector to screen distance in my home is going to be about 11 feet, and viewing distance about 7-8 feet. Is that too short for a projector of this type? Should I instead look at direct view HDTVs? I am aware of the ambient light issues generally associated with projectors, and I think I can get my projector room to be dark enough. My main issue is whether I would get a picture that would be comparable to RPTVs and plasmas in terms of smoothness on DVD and HDTV sources. I am willing to sacrifice the size of the picture, if that helps with PQ.

Of course, I can have answers to most of my questions if I could find a dealer who had X1 in their demo room. Do you know any dealers in SF Bay area that might?

Would you recommend I buy X1 even if I can't demo it? Any other advice for me?

Thanks for reading, and for any advice you might offer.

·
Registered
6,339 Posts