AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie looking to spend up to $2,000 for a receiver and set of speakers. I'm looking for form as well as function, and I would say that both are equally important for my tastes. I could go buy a Denon or Panasonic receiver for $1000 and from a function stand point it would work just fine. However, I'm looking for something that looks "futuristic". As an example, see the Sony DAV-LF1 online at sonystyle (dot) com.

This receiver has all of the form I'm looking for but it is a little short on function. The digitial audio and video inputs and outputs are very limiting.

Does anybody know of a receiver with speakers in the $2,000 range that has both form and function? Thanks. All suggestions are appreciated.

·
Registered
804 Posts
For that kind of budget I wouldnt get a Htib, you could better spend your money and go with seperate speakers (or speaker package) with different receiver. Youll get alot more sound out of a system like that. Just to shout a couple names out there for speakers: Klipsch, Athena, Pok, Paradigm, Ascends. Receivers: Yamaha, Pioneer, Denon.

Maybe this will give a bit of insight. You are limiting yourself with the "form" of it, but still there are choices available, and stating what you are planning to listen (i.e. movies, tv, music..), and also size of room.

·
Registered
8,712 Posts
Here's your form and function,

Jadis Eurythme - list for $45K

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the responses, however none of them really address the question. I am willing to consider seperate components (receiver, DVD, speakers) but am still looking for a receiver with excellent form. I realize that that is a constraint and will perhaps reduce the function of the receiver, but that is a tradeoff I am willing to make. Anybody know of anythiing out there?

·
Registered
327 Posts