AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
714 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone, This is my first post, Please be nice to me. I am a newbie, and I'm not a expert about HT, but it's something that always want to get into. I had been reading about this forum for about couple months now and I'd learn a lot, thanks to all people who come before me and contributed here.

May I ask question on my first post? I don't know, but I really, really need some advice about the question that I'm about to ask.

Before I begin, just so you know, my budget is very limited ($1,000 (Please don't laugh at me, sure, I like to get Denon 5803 and DVD-9000, but I don't have the money)).

OK Here's question: What is the best Home theater in a box for the price under $1,000 or can you help me to piece up a home theater for under $1,000 that will sound good?

I am considering Onkyo HT-S767C

If you willing, please help

Thanks

Baja

·
Registered
1,358 Posts
Welcome to the fourm - hope you find it has helpful as I have!

I'm going to recommend that you steer clear of the HTiB setups. typically, you can do better for not that much more $ if you bargain shop.

I don't know if you meant 1000 US or 1000 Canadian, but I'm going to assume US (cause I can make that go farther)

I think that if I had $1000 and wanted an HT setup, I'd buy the following:

Denon 1403 receiver - $299 (or less online)

Energy Take 5.1 speaker system. - $699 (I think)

I know that with shipping we'll be a tad over budget, but I think that I've stayed within the spirit of the exercise here. I also realize that we have no DVD player. Here's what you do for that. Add an extra $150 to the budget, and get a Decent Sony or Onkyo single disc progressive scan DVD player, and you're all set.

Then start saving your spare change for things like upgraded speaker cables and interconnects. :D It never ends! :D

Good Luck

·
Registered
1,626 Posts