AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
213 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I got a Hipix card a week ago and I just got to installing it today (Yes, I'm lazy ;) ) and I managed to set it up without a hitch. The thing that shocked me the most is that it's able to lock on to a signal at only 46% strength!! I had been pulling my hair out trying to get a stable signal on my HD-100 STB using Attenuators, FM Traps, Amplifiers, and I just couldn't get a stable signal at 90% (reported by the STB). I just hooked up my Silver Sensor Antenna straight up the card with no attachments and it got a signal strength of about 46% but it's able to deliver me a 100% stable picture with no dropouts on all 3 ATSC channels that are available! I'm very pleased. However this was just regular NTSC being fed through the ATSC channels, and I did have audio muted, does watching an HD broadcast put extra strain on an Antenna?

·
Registered
506 Posts
I'm not an expert but I have to say no. If all your getting at the moment is upconverted SD material you should receive HD material just fine because your receiving the same 19 Mbps that the station is sending out. The only exception is you might experience some blocking on your HD shows during fast motion sequences due to the low signal.

Rick

·
Banned
3,772 Posts
The low signal doesn't suggest blocking on fast motion. As long as you have a lock then you get the same data as you would get with a 99% signal. Blockiness during fast motion is an encoder artifact. If your signal is marginal you can get very bad picture breakup even if the scene is still.

Glad your HiPix is working well. The tuner in the HiPix is actually inferior to many newer devices.

·
Registered
343 Posts
PVR - could you elaborate on that?

I'm considering the purchase of a HiPix. Just tried a Samsung SIR-T151 and it pulls in channels quite well so far.