AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone had the opportunity to see both the Hitachi 5500 and the Sony HS10? I will get to demo a 5500 next week and I would like to see the Sony also but it does not sound like people are finding any in my area.

Price aside which one do you think is better?

I have only seen 3 or so projectors and none of them seemed to be setup properly. The best one was a Sony that cost about $7,000 1yr ago and it looked ok but nothing special.

As you can tell I’m still very new to this and anything I should lookout for or settings I should try when I have the 5500 would be greatly appreciated.

Also my current DVD player is a Toshiba SD-1200. Should I pickup a new one for the demo or will my Toshiba work ok?

·
Registered
227 Posts
Hi

I have the Hitachi 5500.

I looked at a lot of PJ's before buying it, and it was the best of the bunch (in my price range) at the time. Compared to the others that I looked at (Toshiba MT7 etc), the Hitachi had incredible vibrant colours, and the picture was (and still is!) a pleasure onthe eye. The SXGA resolution is awesome, and it's impossible to see any 'screen door' unless you are within about 3-4 feet of the screen, which you will never be!

It'a also bright, meaning that it was practical for my needs (sports during the daytime in a room with poor control of ambient light), however the contrast level is excellent for watching DVD's at night.

I keep hearing lots of good things about the Marantz S2 DLP projector, however it's a little more pricey.

Make sure you use a good progressive scan DVD player, to make sure that you are seeing th potential of the PJ. It will also look good through a Home Theater PC on the RGB connection, however I understand that there are some issues using the 5500's DVI interface for HTPC. This should be fixed with a firmware upgrade from Hitachi in the near'ish future.