AVS Forum banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, this is gonna be a fairly long post, but I want to make sure I give the right info to get the best advice. I recently moved into a new home and decided to upgrade my home audio and video setup. For the TV, I opted for a Vizio M651D-A2R and have so far been very pleased with it, especially the 3D! The audio portion has been a lot harder decision as I have a lot of specifics within my budget of $500-$600.

I have been using a Kenwood VR-715 Surround receiver for the last 12 years or so with the original subwoofer and I upgraded the original front and center speakers to a Pioneer Andrew Jones floor speaker set and center speaker 2 years ago. This improved the sound significantly for music and movies, and was getting the job done pretty well. Unfortunately, during the move, my receiver was broken. After 12 years I figure I got my money's worth and was actually very excited about upgrading. The logical move would be to buy a nice new receiver and upgrade my subwoofer and rear speakers, but this is unfortunately not an option for me as my wife desires a much more minimal approach in the new living room. More specifically, a soundbar or compact 2.1 system. I am not at all a fan of this, but keeping the wife happy is pretty important. But to keep me happy, I need some quality sound for both movies and music. The most appealing options I have looked at in my budget so far are:

The Vizio S4251w-b4

With this choice I could add the 5.1 speakers for a movie and then put them up during normal viewing. Concerned about the music quality though.

Bose Cinemate Series II

A lot pricier but very compact with what seems like much better sound quality. Unfortunately, it is limited on inputs and does not have Bluetooth.

Harman Karson SB26