AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Let me start out by saying that I am a networking newbie...

My situation. I have a home LAN consisting of 2 Windows computers and 2 RTV 4500s connecting to the internet over a DSL router. My ISP has assigned 4 static IP addresses which I have in turn assigned to each of the above mentioned devices. I am planning on adding at least another RTV to my LAN. After contacting my ISP, they say I would have to upgrade my service to get more IP addresses and thereby doubling my monthly costs.

Is there a simpler (and obviously cheaper) way to accomplish this?

·
Registered
4,546 Posts
yes - buy a cable/dsl router...allows you to share you internet connection with multiple devices

you only need 1 external ip address...this router will then assign internal ip addresses to all your devices

the most widely used is the linksys... this one would probably work nicely for you...you should be able to find this for around $100

if you want wireless you could get the 4-port linksys router...also around $100...then you would have to add a switch if you wanted all 5 items to be hardwired (switch around $35)

do a search on the word 'router' and you'll get lots of hits

www.practicallynetworked.com is a good site for networking info

·
Registered
742 Posts
Find a router that is a DHCP server (say a linksys) that serves local IP addresses on your Lan. Then you only need ONE IP address from your ISP for that router / modem and it does NOT have to be static, unless you need it or it doesn't cost any more.