AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

I'm fairly new to the world of home audio so I'm looking for a little advice from you knowledgeable folks.  First, a little background. My only experience with home theater systems to date was my Onkyo 5.1 system that included the receiver. It only cost $250, and compared to the speakers on my TV it was a massive upgrade. Unfortunately the receiver started cutting sound in and out and needed replaced. I received a Sony STRDH540 as a gift last week, but the subwoofer that came with the Onkyo is passive and can't be connected to the Sony. I've heard that the speakers that come with these Onkyo systems aren't very good anyway, so I'm looking to replace them. The Sony receiver is a 5.2 and has 145w per channel.

My question is what's a good starting point? I've browsed various review websites (amazon, cnet, crutchfield) and several pages of this forum but am still curious what you guys would recommend. I want to buy decent components that I can have for several years.

-My room is roughly 15'x20' with one wall opening up to the kitchen and dining room.

-I will initially only be able to wire a 3.1 system up until I finish renovations in the living room. Then I will be going to a full 5.1 system (5.2?).

-My budget for the 3.1 system I can piece together now is $400-$600. I wll add the 2 additional surround speakers at a later time if they don't fit in that budget.

-I live in Hilo Hawaii and there is no place here to demo speakers. The only vendors that ship here for a reasonable price are Amazon, Monoprice, and Crutchfield to my knowledge.

I'm hoping this budget isn't too small to get started on a system that will fill a room this size nicely (I will be able to add the surrounds in later). I like the look of floor speakers and am trying to avoid small satellite systems that I've read are insufficient for this space (Energy 5.1 classic for example).