AVS Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first post ever in this forum even though I have been going through the details for quite some time. It has always amazed me to know how knowledgeable you guys are on this forum.

I am a newbie looking to build a home theater system from scratch. I have already purchased Denon receiver - 2112 and planning to buy HSU VTF-2 MK3 subwoofer. Currently I am looking for speakers and I plan to purchase front 3 speakers to start with, rest of the system I will build later when the budget permits.

My room size is 25' X 18' and it's 10' high. This area includes family room and the kitchen and the speakers will be placed in a bookshelf in the family room. For the 3 speakers my budget is around $500 - $600 and my primary requirement is 90% TV and 10% music.

I cannot go with a floorstanding speaker so I will have to work with bookshelf speakers. After reading this forum I have shortlisted the following combo and now I need your expert opinion to finalize the speakers. If you would like to suggest some other combinations, please advise.

1. Energy RC 10 - L & R

Energy RC-LCR - center

2. KEF IQ30 - L & R

KEF IQ60C - center

3. Klipsch RB51 II - L & R

Klipsch RC52 II - center

4. HSU HB1-MK2 - L & R

HSU HC1-MK2 - center

I am not very familiar with the speaker jargon but I think I will prefer more neutral sound and I guess my husband will also like the same.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for your feedback. I looked at the thread and the reviews look good for HB1-mk2. Since these speakers are rear ported, I may have a problem since the maximum distance from the wall will be 8 inches. These speakers will be placed on a shelf which is part of entertainment system.

I don't know if this restricts me to go for front ported speakers only.

·
Banned
8,744 Posts