here is what i need,

2 dvd players

LD player

s-vhs

NEC-6PG projector

CI-scalar

Lutron Spacer(dimmer)

Lex MC-1..

can this control all these....where do i check and how is it loaded,Manually???what's the difference between the MX-500 AND 700,

I'm a remote control newbie:)so be kind...

thanks-

Tommy

·
Registered
355 Posts
The MX-500 is a great remote for the money. It's a pre-programmed and learning remote, so any codes it doesn't come with can be taught. It'll control 10 devices, so you should be ok for the near-term. A couple of differences between the 500 and 700; the 700 has a GUIDE button and comes with PC software for programming it.

Search the forum, you'll find a lot of info and some alternatives. You might also check out remotecentral.com where there are forums dedicated to the various remote manufacturers.

·
Registered
3,422 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Randy,

how do you tell the difference between the new Ver..(gemstone)and the older Ver....and what's the difference???

thanks-

Tommy

·
Registered
355 Posts
Sorry, don't know much about the button difference other than some prefer the "older" non-gemstone version. Something about a difference in the tactile feel of the buttons?

·
Registered
17,711 Posts
mercury you are better off going to http://www.remotecentral.com/cgi-bin...aster/list.cgi

The gemstone buttons just look and feal better (from what was said on RC). HTM changed the buttons on the original MX-500 to the gemstone buttons to match the ones they were going to use on the 700. they did this to bring production cost down (Taking care of one type of button is cheaper then two types). When they changed the buttons, they also changed the cursor pad, for one that should last longer. But the newer pad was hard to use (select button was hard to push) so they modified it a bit to the newest 500 model. All the 700s have GS2 configuration (Gemstone buttons and newest version of the pad).

·
Registered
654 Posts