AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I had been on the route to buy a Bose Lifestyle system until I read a thread on this website where the general consensus seemed to be that the Bose systems are overpriced compared to other setups of the same or better quality.

I am new to the world of Home Theatres and am lost in the huge amount of information. So I was wondering if anyone could recommend a setup in place of a Bose Lifestyle system.

·
Registered
5,058 Posts
Just do a search on Bose and you will find a ton of threads, most with recomendations for substitute items

·
Registered
724 Posts
I guess some basic things need to be established before anyone can recommend a system for you:

1. Why the Bose? What made you go that route first? Was it the size, simplicity, was it the brand name? Was it the wife influence? I'm not knocking you nor Bose? Just wondering if there's an important element that will influence the buying decision that made you look at Bose first. For some, Bose is the right choice, not for others.

2. What size is your room?

3. What percentage usage for movies vs music?

4. What are system size limitations?

5. What are wife/girlfriend limitations?

6. Do you have a personal preference towards types of speakers, i.e. towers, bookshelf sized, satellites, etc?

7. What is the maximum budget?

8. Any constraints due to the room layout?

9. Do you prefer one type of sound vs another? I.E. Warm (meaning more prominent highs, perhaps smoother, neutral), bright (prominent highs, sometimes too high, etc). This just helps in identifying which speakers you may not like. I.E. I love Klipsch speakers because of their horn tweeters, something some other people hate because they can't stand the bright sound.

Thanks.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
1) I was thinking Bose for a number of reasons.