AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,637 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi guys, this is my first post. i am a newbie to most of this stuff.

i have just purchased a samsung hln4365w DLP set and have my cable company comcast coming to deliver and install a motorola dct5100 hdtv cable box. i have a few questions:

[1]someone told me that you must change a default setting on the motorola cable box to turn off a setting (auto something) in order to avoid having to switch from component video and antenna when toggling between standard or non HD channels and HDTV channels. this is supposedly due to something on the samsung sets.....anyone familiar with this and if so, how do i access the box's configuration menu and what do i need to change?

[2]does the motorola dct5100 have a DVI hookup that i have been reading about? if so, do i need special cables to hook it up to the samsung tv? if it doesn't, will i be dissapointed with the PQ thru the component video mode?

[3]what is the best "stretch mode" to watch standard channels in (ie sports) that looks least skewed? and will i need to turn stretch modes on and off when toggling between standard channels and widescreen HDTV channels?

thanks in advance!

-dave in boston

·
Registered
135 Posts
Regarding your first question, you should definitely change the settings on the DCT5100. With the cable box off and the TV on, press menu on the cable box. You'll get a setup screen. Change the HD output to 720p. If you want to be able to view standard def channels without toggling between inputs, set 4:3 Override to 480p, from 480i. (Or you can also set it to default to the HD setting.) I just had to make this adjustment on a calibration I did this evening.

Unfortunately the Motorola does not have a DVI output. One of the kickers, IMHO, to using digital cable service with this box on these sets. DVI definitely looks better.