AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I hooked up my nintendo wii to my denon 1912 receiver and getting video through the component inputs, but I don't know how to get audio. I can plug the 2 audio wires into: dvd, dock, BD, sat/cab or CD. The only problem is, in the menu where it says "input assign," it only lets me choose digital audio as "off" or Coaxial" So how do I assign the audio for my Wii to (dvd, dock, BD, sat/cab, or CD)? Anyone have their Wii hooked up through their receiver. How did you do it? This is especially important because I am getting ready to have my TV mounted on the wall, and I don't want to have an extra wire hanging from my TV, rather have it right into the receiver. Any help would be much appreciated.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
93,361 Posts
Analog audio inputs are not assignable. So whatever analog audio input you use, you must then assign the component video input to the same name. I told you the same thing 3 weeks ago in your other thread here .


For more information on your 1912, check out the first 6 posts of the Denon XX12 Owner's thread linked in my sig.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie
Analog audio inputs are not assignable. So whatever analog audio input you use, you must then assign the component video input to the same name. I told you the same thing 3 weeks ago in your other thread here .


For more information on your 1912, check out the first 6 posts of the Denon XX12 Owner's thread linked in my sig.
I posted this question again because I can't figure out how to assign an audio source with the component. Thanks for the help before, I was able to solve all the other problems I was having with the receiver except this last one. Sorry, but I've looked through all the on screen menus and can't find the page where it says I the can assign a different audio source with component. Can anyone on here that owns a denon 1912 tell me how to assign one of the analog audio inputs with the component video input please?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9,569 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by eazydeazy
Sorry, but I've looked through all the on screen menus and can't find the page where it says I the can assign a different audio source with component. Can anyone on here that owns a denon 1912 tell me how to assign one of the analog audio inputs with the component video input please?
Hi eazydeazy, wow... its been mention that you CANNOT assign analog audio inputs.


Connect the Wii audio cables (red & white) to DVD IN R & L jacks.

Connect the Wii video cables (green,blue,red) to Component Input jacks.


Go into Menu -> Input Setup -> Input Assign


Default ----HDMI----Digital----Component

DVD--------none----none--------RCA
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
So now i got the wii plugged into component video and the audio going through cab/sat. but the video only works when i put the source on game and the audio only works when i put the source on cab/sat.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
93,361 Posts
You apparently have the component input assigned to "GAME." Look at p. 97 in your Owner's manual and get to that same screen (see JChin's post above). For the SAT/CBL entry, set HDMI and Digital to NONE and set Component to RCA. This also assumes you are not using the SAT/CBL source for an HDMI input like a cable/sat box.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I finally got it guys! Thanks for everyone's patience. I had the wii on the game source while trying to put it on the DVD source so it wasn't offering component input for the DVD since it was already component on game. I finally realized I had to delete the game source since there is only one component input. Thanks again everybody for all your patience.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
18,923 Posts
It's a Brave new world of limited inputs and assignability. Interesting how we used to have more flexibility a few years back.


Yamaha got the bright idea to remove a lot of inputs, and most of the previous flexibility. They thought "Who will ever need to hook up something with component video and analog audio? They must be a rare customer." So they did not implement that. "But hey, what's this new fangled thing called a Wii that only a few millions of people own? Oh crap! It's a device with component video and no digital audio output?? We need to add that ability, or people are going to be returning our receivers back to the store."


Short sightedness on the part of receiver makers, or antiquated thinking by Nintendo? You decide (Personally, I think Nintendo was just looking to cut costs. Seeing how bad the graphics are on the Wii, they should have just used composite video along with the analog audio
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
29,313 Posts

Quote:
It's a Brave new world of limited inputs and assignability. Interesting how we used to have more flexibility a few years back.

And people still complain about too many legacy inputs. I remember seeing a thread where a guy wanted 8 HDMI inputs and that's it. No analog audio or video inputs at all. wouldn't even be able to connect a Wii.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
18,923 Posts
I know...because THEY get confused by extra inputs, and why shouldn't other people suffer so they can be happy?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
93,361 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by mocino /forum/post/21226995


Can I connect both DVD and WII to the same Denon 1912?

If both are component video, then you would need a component video switch like this one.


To learn more about your 1912, join us in the Denon XX12 Owner's thread linked in my sig.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by JChin /forum/post/20859040


Connect the Wii audio cables (red & white) to DVD IN R & L jacks.

Connect the Wii video cables (green,blue,red) to Component Input jacks.


Go into Menu -> Input Setup -> Input Assign


Default ----HDMI----Digital----Component

DVD--------none----none--------RCA

Worked perfectly - thanks!!

n8
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
I need help please!


I read this thread in search for help but for some reason can't get my setup to work.

I have a first ten Xbox 360 with component and RCA audio, I connected the component to the Denon AVR 1912 and can get video on GAME2 port on the receiver, I went to the receiver menu to assign the inputs, for GAME2 I have None for HDMI, None for Digital and RCA under Component - I tried to connect the RCA audio to all the available RCA audio ports (DVD, BD, CD , Dock) and none of them are working to produce sound! I tried to assign RCA to V.AUX and Dock still no luck.... Maybe I need to delete the GAME2 prior? how do I do that? what am I doing wrong??? Any help will be appreciated! I have banged my head for 3 days now


Quote:
Originally Posted by n8leon /forum/post/21652398


Worked perfectly - thanks!!

n8
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
93,361 Posts
^^


Note that the analog audio inputs "cannot" be assigned, rather you must use the source name listed on the input ... therefore as there is no GAME2 analog input you cannot use that source name for the component video input .... rather you must "assign" the component input to one of the analog input label names (eg. BD, SAT/CBL, etc.) and the connect the analog audio cable into the same labeled name.


Also, you're much better served posting any 1912 issues/questions in the Denon XX12 Owner's thread linked in my sig. Review posts 3-6 in that thread for more helpful setup/troubleshooting info.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,827 Posts
In addition to the help at avsforum I would encourage those confused by Denon setup to go here:

http://batpigworld.com/


I'm a highly technical person - programmer, analyst, developer, designer, pretty much filled every job description there is. Yet Denon setup remains one of the more difficult tasks left on the planet. Follow Batpig guides for a translation into plain english. Without them I would have moved from Denon long ago.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9,569 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boazi /forum/post/21671984


I need help please!


I read this thread in search for help but for some reason can't get my setup to work.

I have a first ten Xbox 360 with component and RCA audio, I connected the component to the Denon AVR 1912 and can get video on GAME2 port on the receiver, I went to the receiver menu to assign the inputs, for GAME2 I have None for HDMI, None for Digital and RCA under Component - I tried to connect the RCA audio to all the available RCA audio ports (DVD, BD, CD , Dock) and none of them are working to produce sound! I tried to assign RCA to V.AUX and Dock still no luck.... Maybe I need to delete the GAME2 prior? how do I do that? what am I doing wrong??? Any help will be appreciated! I have banged my head for 3 days now

Hi Boazi, if your receiver optical jack is not being used then suggest using an optical cable instead of RCA (red & white) cables. The Xbox 360 has an optical out port (small square shape) located on the actual A/V Component cable connector .


Connect the Xbox 360 video cables (green,blue,red) to Component Input jacks.

Connect an optical cable from Xbox 360 to receiver Optical Input jack.


Go into Menu -> Input Setup -> Input Assign


Default ----HDMI----Digital----Component

Game 2-----none------OPT--------RCA


Then go into Xbox 360 audio menu and set Digital Output to "Dolby Digital 5.1".
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
85 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie /forum/post/20858792


analog audio inputs are not assignable. So whatever analog audio input you use, you must then assign the component video input to the same name. I told you the same thing 3 weeks ago in your other thread here .


For more information on your 1912, check out the first 6 posts of the denon xx12 owner's thread linked in my sig.

:d
 
1 - 20 of 20 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top