AVS Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just recently purchased a bluray player and I remember reading that the 1080p/24 setting was the best for bluray movies since movies run at 24fps. Well, I found that option in my bluray player settings, enabled it, and it seemed to accept it, but how do I know if my TV accepts it? It just says it's playing in 1080p. I have the 40" Dynex 1080p LCD.

Also, I'm new to bluray so I'm not sure about this, but why is everything in extreme widescreen? Meaning I have black bars on the top and bottom of the picture, even though my HDTV is already widescreen. Is there anyway to turn this off?

·
Registered
1,024 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by redlinegts85 /forum/post/19647479

I just recently purchased a bluray player and I remember reading that the 1080p/24 setting was the best for bluray movies since movies run at 24fps. Well, I found that option in my bluray player settings, enabled it, and it seemed to accept it, but how do I know if my TV accepts it? It just says it's playing in 1080p. I have the 40" Dynex 1080p LCD.

Also, I'm new to bluray so I'm not sure about this, but why is everything in extreme widescreen? Meaning I have black bars on the top and bottom of the picture, even though my HDTV is already widescreen. Is there anyway to turn this off?

write down your model number and go to the Dynex website and it should be written there if your TV supports 1080/24p.

As for the black bars, there are differnet widescreen format and depending on the one that was choosen when the movie was shot, you may still have blackbars when watching on your HDTV.

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks...another question.