AVS Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I'm new to this & searching info. I'm setting up my htpc with 2 harddrives (i heard this is better). I want to put my os on the first drive WD 120GB, & use 2nd Hitachi 1tb strictly for recorded shows. How would I set this up? would I set the first drive as the primary, & the 2nd as the slave, & all the info automatically would get recorded on the 2nd drive or am I wrong. Also is the 120GB HDD enough space for OS?

Thank you

·
Registered
425 Posts
Primary and slave? Are you using PATA drives? Yea just setup the OS drive as the master and storage drive as the slave. And 120gb is more than enough, people are running 30gb SSDs for their OS.

With the two drives setup this way your OS should see two drives. Then change your storage for the recordings to the storage drive.

·
Registered
132 Posts
As long as your using SATA drives you really don't have to worry about "master" and "slave" settings. Like tlmaclennan said, install the OS on the smaller drive and then check the settings in whatever program your using to record video to save to the second larger hard drive.

·
Registered
1,052 Posts
> Also is the 120GB HDD enough space for OS?

For Windows or Linux, that's probably 3 or 4 times what is needed.

> all the info automatically would get recorded on the 2nd drive or am I wrong

You're wrong. You have to tell the recording software (Media Center?) where to put the recordings. Almost all Windows software defaults to storage on the C: drive or on the same logical drive that the application program resides.